Biography of Bombay

I was getting bored one weekend and i thought of roaming around Bangalore, discovered some beautiful places like Rangsthala art metro centre where i have seen painting exhibition.Marvelous thought invoking abstract paintings but that was not the point. The riveting fact was that I bought 6 books on the way to home,three from the roadside stalls.Three from the blossoms book store. The three which I got from bookstore are Maximum city lost and found, Dharamshala and one romantic book-keeping of Danielle Steele. It was no brain’s work that I have started with Maximum city lost and found. What more can you expect from a lover of Bombay.

So I have started this book with feelings of love,excitement like the first love newly found and experienced,chuckles!!

After going through 185 pages of this humongous book, I am filled with mixed feelings now.

It is at the verge of falling in the category of book which you cannot wait to read but you can never recommend it to anybody like Lolita and many more.

Anyway, what i chiefly encountered in this book is what I want to share here in my blog-post.

Biography of Bombay: The city i was in love with!!

Yes I was in love with it now I think I am content in where currently my abode lies.

Bombay- the dream city, the city which never sleeps, the kingdom of dreams in nutshell.

I was truly madly deeply in love with it as I like its restlessness its passionate nature of nurturing others’ dreams which all were signifying it’s youthful personality, young at heart philosophy. I think nobody wants to get wise and old, sigh!!

So i loved its youth, its English-ness and its oh what not!!

And then I have fallen in its deep girth and realized for the very first time its history,oh bless my ignorance. In place of falling in love with it more, I have started growing out of it.

The readers( whoever is reading or will read it) would be excited by now, what lies in it’s history.

Well its history is such a tremendous and exciting one that I have to dedicate series of blog-posts on it, chuckles again!!

Nonetheless the beginning of the book was very interesting : we all are individually multiple,the schizophrenic personality feature.

Likewise Bombay is also individually multiple, there must be various languages in its history, the amalgamation of various cultures and religions but it knows and understands only one language, the language of money, of business, true that.

When the riots broke in the city, oh the glorious history, Hindus were slashing Muslims and on the other hand Muslims were sawing Hindus but a Muslim milkman were selling milk to a Hindu locality on the very next morning and a Hindu cable operator was eating Chai Pakodas at his Muslim’s clientele’s house just for keeping good will.

As residents of Bombay like it are individually multiple. gasp!!

It has kind of  tried drawing attention to many profound philosophies like a rioter, or a murder likewise is individually multiple and they have different personalities aspects but the one spreading riots or the one murdering people get dominant and the rest drowned somewhere amidst sea of  multiple personalities.

Nonetheless it is definitely a though provoking book and I think I should start from the beginning after reading 185 pages just to submerge the gap effect of my reading in my reading pleasures.

I will start reading it again so as to catalog here properly.

Till then, Ciao!! 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment